Tuesday, September 30, 2014

All God's Children (The Peacemakers #1) by Anna Schmidt

Title: All God’s Children (The Peacemakers #1)
Author: Anna Schmidt
Pages: 320
Year: 2013
Publisher: Shiloh Run Press

About the book:

     Beth Bridgewater, a German American, finds herself in a nightmare as World War II erupts – a war in which she takes no side, for she is a Quaker pacifist. Just as she gains opportunity to escape Germany, Beth decides to stay to help the helpless. Meanwhile, Josef Buch, a passionately patriot German, is becoming involved in his own secret ways of resisting the Nazis. . . . Despite their differences, Beth and Josef join together in nonviolent resistance – and in love. Does their love stand a chance. . . if they even survive at all?

My review:

     This is an exciting Christian WWII novel.

     This is a wonderful exploration of how the Quakers handle themselves during very difficult times. I had no idea how this unique group of people worship and how they work as a community. I loved the look into their beliefs and calm manner of dealing with difficult issues.

     The characters are wonderful. I was able to connect with them very quickly. They were well developed and the personalities were extremely varied which helped to keep my interest.

     The conflict between those who believed in Hitler, and his regime, and those who were opposed was very clearly presented. I never knew that there were Quakers in Germany at the time of WWII. I really enjoyed learning about this.

     I give this wonderful story 5 stars and I’m eagerly looking forward to reading the other books in this series. I highly recommend this book.

Friday, September 19, 2014

The Healing Quilt (The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club #3) by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Title: The Healing Quilt (The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club #3)
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Pages: 320
Year: 2014
Publisher: Shiloh Run Press
Note: I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

About the book:

     Emma takes her Amish quilting class to the sunshine state.

     Amish newlyweds, Lamar and Emma Yoder Miller seek warmer weather is Sarasota, Florida, and have purchased a small house in the Pinecraft community. But Emma wishes her days had more purpose than leisurely walks on the beach. Before long she is sending back home for her supplies and advertising a quilting class.

     Wounded and hurting people have a knack for finding their way to Emma’s classes for some quilting therapy: Jennifer, a pregnant new mom; Mike, a charter boat owner; Erika, a wheelchair-bound teen; Kim, a waitress; Noreen, a newly retired widow; and B.J. an artist facing illness. God will use Emma and Lamar on each of their journeys toward healing frayed hearts.

     And when Jan Sweet visits from Indiana, a romantic twist is unexpectedly added to the class dynamics.

My review:

     A great story about simply caring about and for others.

     There is a full cast of wonderful, well developed characters. Emma and Lamar Miller are so calm and peaceful. They share their love of God in the simple things that they do and easy way they open up to each person taking their quilting class. Each student in the newest class arrives for the first class with a problem they are facing. The Miller’s simple way of caring for each one helps them all to open up before the 6 weeks are over.

     The students all have differing personalities and a variety of problems. I love the depth that Wanda goes to in building up each one of them. The problems are slowly explored and then sorted out.

     It is a fantastic book that drew me in and held my attention throughout the story. One of the main attractions for me is the simple lifestyle that Emma and Lamar live and the ease they have caring for so many different types of people.

     I absolutely loved this book and give it 5 stars. I highly recommend it.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Forever Amish (Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy #3) by Kate Lloyd

Title: Forever Amish (Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy #3)
Author: Kate Lloyd
Pages: 368
Year: 2014
Publisher: David C. Cook
Note: I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

About the book:

     It’s the last thing she expects to find.

     Sally Bingham needs some time away to sort through the changes in her life and to rethink her upcoming marriage. Despite her ailing father’s hesitations, she drives to Lancaster County for a weekend away. But her best-laid plans leave her in a near collision with a bishop’s buggy and in the home of a mysterious Amish woman named Lizzie. Lizzie introduces her to a different perspective on life, a charming farmhand named Armin – and opens a Pandora’s box that will forever change Sally’s life.

     The last book in the Legacy of Lancaster trilogy, Forever Amish introduces us to a young woman about to uncover a shocking secret and find an invitation to a new way of living. This is a story of forgiveness, legacies, and the ties that bind through generations.

My review:

     This is a wonderful exploration of forgiveness.

     This book is full of fantastic characters. They are well developed and presented. The variety of personalities is very nice. Most of them, but not all, are Amish. Some of them have secrets they have been keeping for years even from their closest loved ones. As secrets come out heartaches abound. It was great to see the paths each one takes to find their way to forgiveness.

     Once again I have found a great book that I loved and am giving it 5 stars. I highly recommend this book. It is a stand-alone story and you don’t have to have the first 2 books in this series before reading this one.