Friday, January 1, 2016

Blue Ribbon Trail Ride (Horses and Friends #4) by Miralee Ferrell

Title: Blue Ribbon Trail Ride (Horses and Friends #4)
Author: Miralee Ferrell
Pages: 208
Release Date: January 1, 2016
Genre: Middle School
Publisher: David C. Cook
Format: eBook (also available in paperback)
Note: I received a free eBook copy of the book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About the book:

     Thirteen-year old Kate and her friends came up with the perfect way to raise money for her autistic younger brother and others to attend summer camp – a horse scavenger hunt! As local businesses donate money and prizes, Kate keeps the entry fees in her mom’s antique jewelry box.

     But when the box and the money disappear, Kate and her friends must unravel the clues, hold on to hope, and solve the mystery along the Blue Ribbon Trail Ride.

My review:

     What’s better than horses and mysteries?

     This is another fantastic book geared for middle school readers who love horses. There is also plenty of mystery and sleuthing. I found this book to be very reminiscent of Trixie Beldon which I read when I was growing up.

     I really liked seeing how Kate has matured over the course of these books. Lessons she learned in earlier ones came up again. This time though she quickly remembered them and acted accordingly.

     There is another newcomer to the core group of friends. I found him to be very amusing and yet a nice addition. Adding him gave Kate and her friends more room to grow and develop as they learned how to adjust to his quirks.

     I would love to see more books written about these wonderful characters. I have to give this marvelous story a rating of 5 stars. I am highly recommending it. In fact I’ve already purchased it for my granddaughter.

1 comment:

  1. Yay! Thanks so much for your awesome review! I loved Trixie Beldon books while growing up, as well. I'm so glad you like Jake, my new character. I'm considering writing a book #5 and publishing it under my own imprint, since this series is complete with the original publisher.